A guests point of view

My lead up to actually make it to Toastmasters was pretty long, I had heard about it a few months ago and reached out via email to be greeted electronically with warmth and understanding. You see I was someone who was (still is so far) shocking at public speaking and social anxiety was something I carried for some time too. I agreed that I would come to the next meeting but it seemed every Monday that Toastmasters was to be held I suddenly had some mysterious fatigue bug or time got away from me…or whatever else I could think of to make myself feel better about completely wimping out.

The lovely Toastmasters though didn’t let me forget so easily and checked in on me a month later to see how I was going and although I still managed to talk myself out of it another two times, at the end of October I finally made it as a guest. The whole journey there (7 minutes from my house) I was trying to talk myself out of going but I powered through and bravely walked toward the doors and into the terrifying realm that is Toastmasters…except it was not so terrifying. I was warmly welcomed and encouraged, I instantly felt at ease and was introduced to every member as they walked in behind me.

Every person was friendly and made me feel accepted. Within themselves they are a happy little community that embraced and celebrated newcomers as well as each other. As we took our seats to get started they quickly got me up to speed on how it all works with the written agenda, keeping everything nicely timed so all the speakers get the best out of their turn. There were fun improv exercises that I was encouraged to join in but not pressured if I had said no, which I did a few times. With each person talking everybody else listened and joined in, if prompted to, with respect and grace and then evaluators gave constructive and diligent feedback for members to get to the best of their communication skills.

The whole night flew by seamlessly with a break in the middle for supper that is provided and friendly chats to the other members who turn out to be just like you, someone wanting to improve their skills to better express themselves in this world…and you feel seen, heard and respected for the words you have to say. I would highly recommend if you are thinking about going to Toastmasters do it! Even as a guest you get all of this with no pressure to join whatsoever, but probably walking out with the idea that you will like myself. I’ve finally found a place that is completely accepting and safe to express myself to the best of my ability and build on that whilst making friends and sharing connections, and if you’re anything like me learning some well needed organisation skills. I am looking forward to the next meeting and pushing myself out of my comfort zone a little more, maybe even reaching the front of the room.

tm-guest-book

Contributed by Toni Gunston – Noosa Toastmasters guest (and soon to be member!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A guests point of view

  1. Kate says:

    Toni, a great post that reminds us all of our journey with Toastmasters… especially our very first meeting. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Wonderful to meet you Toni and glad to read that you will be coming back.

Comments are closed.